April 1, 2023

On Tuesday, the first day of the 2022 IIHF World Junior Championships in Edmonton, the United States will face Germany in one of three matches.

The games will take place from August 9th to 20th, all at Rogers Square.

Each game will be televised on the NHL network in the US and TSN in Canada.

The competition was originally scheduled to run from December 26 to January. 5 In Edmonton and Red Deer, Alberta. After four days of competition, the game was postponed on December 29 due to concerns over the coronavirus.

Players who qualified for the Elite Under-20 International Championship in December will still be eligible for the rescheduled tournament, regardless of whether they are 20 years old or not. Results and statistics from the December matches will not be counted at the start of the tournament.

The United States won the 2021 WJC, beating Canada in the championship game. The last team to win the championship in a row was Canada, which won five straight in the 2005-09 season.

Canada will play their first qualifier against Latvia on Wednesday.

Ten teams will participate in the WJC. The United States will join Sweden, Germany, Switzerland and Austria in qualifying Group B. Group A consists of Canada, Finland, Czech Republic, Slovakia and Latvia.

Latvia was added to replace Russia, which was banned from international competitions due to its invasion of Ukraine.

On August 17th, the top four in each group advance to the quarter-finals, the semi-finals on August 19th, and the championship and third place on August 20th.

There will be no relegation rounds, which means the same 10 teams will be participating in the 2023 WJC, which will take place from December 26 to January. May 2023 in Halifax, Nova Scotia and Moncton, New Brunswick.

2022 World Youth Championship Schedule

August 9
Czech Republic and Slovakia, 2 p.m. ET
Latvia v Finland, 6 p.m. ET
10 p.m. EST in the US and Germany

August 10
Sweden v Switzerland, 2 p.m. ET
Latvia & Canada, 6 p.m. ET
Germany & Austria, 10 PM ET

August 11
Finland and the Czech Republic, 2 p.m. ET
Slovakia v Canada, 6 p.m. ET
Switzerland and the US, 10 PM ET

August 12
Austria and Sweden, 2 p.m. ET
Slovakia v Latvia, 6 p.m. ET

August 13
Austria and the US, 2 p.m. ET
Canada and the Czech Republic, 6 p.m. ET
Germany & Switzerland, 10 PM ET

August 14
Finland & Slovakia, 2 p.m. ET
Czech Republic and Latvia, 6 p.m. ET
US & Sweden, 10 PM ET

August 15
Switzerland v Austria, 2 p.m. ET
Canada v Finland, 6 p.m. ET
Sweden & Germany, 10 PM ET

August 17
Quarterfinals 1, 12 p.m. ET
Quarterfinals 2, 3:30 p.m. ET
7pm ET, Quarterfinals 3
Quarterfinals 4, 10:30pm ET

August 19
Semifinals 1 p.m., 4 p.m. ET
Semifinals 2, 8 p.m. ET

August 20
3rd place game, 4 p.m. ET
Championship Game, 8 PM ET

listen: New episode of NHL draft class

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *